It’s gotta be the shoes

Long time, no post.  Sorry about that.  A LOT has happened in the last few weeks.

First of all, I ran Hood to Coast.  I was able to finish leg 1 and will say right now that I NEVER want to do that again.  I’ve felt like a walking injury ever since.  6 miles of steep downhill is to much.  Maybe if I were 50 pounds lighter and 10 years more experienced.  For now, I can say that I did it and that is good enough for me.

I battles very tight calves after Hood to Coast, followed by some slight foot pain.  For the first time this year, I went into the local running store looking for a SHOE.  I wanted something that I could recover in.  I ended us buying a pair of Saucony Hattori’s. Still super minimal, but they do have a bit of a foam sole.  They were pretty comfortable over the couple of weeks that I wore them.

Still had some residual pain, so I took a few days off.  Ran 3 miles on Wednesday, sat out Thurs, Fri, and Saturday.  Then, out of nowhere, full blown Plantar Fasciitis on Sunday Morning.  Foot pain to the point that I could barely take a step.  If you’ve never had it, count your blessings.  I’ve never felt anything so crippling.

Was it that Hattori’s? I’m not really sure what else it could have been.  It’s been almost 2 weeks now since my last run and my foot is slowly improving.

I’ve been pretty aggressive with ice, stretching, massage, ultra-sound, etc.  Its been a week and I can now walk without a limp.  I am probably still a week or two away from my next run.  I could survive a few miles now, but I’m not going to risk aggravating the soft tissue.  I picked up a spin bike on Craigslist that will provide my cardio workouts while I recover.

Well, that’s my running update…not ideal, but I’m back on the mend.  I am still confident that I’ll be able to run my winter marathons.  Hopefully, there will be no additional setbacks.

Non-running news – I started a new job.  Still recruitment advertising. Working for Vestas American Wind Technology.  They put up wind turbines all over the world.  It’s a good gig, but its just one more piece of the craziness that has been my life lately.

Well, I’m off to ride the bike, and hopefully watch the Yankees lose!

Leave a comment